Entry deadline nears for Global Sustainability Film Awards

Aug 31, 2016 | News

By <a href="" target="_self">George Catchpole</a>

By George Catchpole

Marketing Manager

The clock is ticking on the call for entries for the fifth tve Global Sustainability Film Awards (GSFA).

tve Global Sustainability Film Awards winner HSBC

The awards encourage companies large and small to showcase through their own films, pioneering innovations and their impact on the world, their workforce, their communities and the environment. The awards are being supported by The Planet Mark™ through its partnership with the charity tve.

This year categories reflect the global goals for sustainable development, agreed by world leaders in 2015. These goals set ambitious targets for world development, eradicating poverty and hunger; ensuring good health, quality education and gender equality; and setting targets for affordable and clean energy, climate action and responsible consumption and production.

Companies are invited to enter films into three new categories focusing on the 17 Sustainable Development Goals launched in 2015. A fourth new category will focus on companies leading the way in their ambitions to achieve a net-positive impact for the planet and communities.

“tve is again taking an important lead in the debate about how companies are driving sustainable businesses against the backdrop of the new Sustainable Development Goals and the landmark Paris climate change agreement of 2015,” commented Nick Nuttall, chair of Judges and head of Communications and Spokesperson at the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). “The awards provide a really constructive platform for sharing innovative thinking by companies.”

Last year’s GSFA winner for Best Film was HSBC’s Troubled Waters (pictured).

tve works with filmmakers and partners worldwide to make and distribute content that puts the environment and sustainability on the global agenda. The GSFA are tve’s major fundraising event of the year.

The closing date for entries is September 30.

Companies can enter via the awards website.